April Highlights, May Intentions

Wow, what a great month! Summer has arrived in Vancouver, and everyone is running around in shorts & tshirts. It feels like the beginning of something fresh and new, as though the sunshine holds the promise of adventure and happiness. Wouldn’t that be nice?

April Highlights:

  • Source: RW & Co.

    Perfect gold sandals. Source: RW & Co.

    I discovered Homeland and have subsequently fallen down that rabbit hole in an obsessive way. No but seriously, I must know what’s going to happen in Season 3!

  • I found the perfect gold sandals. The impetus for this purchase was my upcoming trip to Vegas, but I’ve been wearing them nonstop and I’ll be lucky if I haven’t worn them to shreds before the summer is out.
  • Attended a good friend’s bridal shower. It was neat to see how it washandled, because she lives far away and didn’t want to ship all the gifts home at great expense. Most people bought off a registry, had the gift shipped to her home address, and included a picture of the gift in her card. Great way to handle gift showers far from home!
  • Gave away a bunch of stuff I didn’t need following the apartment move. I feel good knowing my duplicate stuff that I don’t use is going to people that really need it.
  • Made these delicious cookies and tried my hand at homemade potstickers – success!
  • Celebrated the birthdays of a couple of great friends – one of which was a 40th birthday! *GASP* I can’t believe MY OWN friends are starting to turn 40. It doesn’t seem so long ago that it was my parents’ friends celebrating this milestone.
  • Fell back in love with hiking and have been hitting up the local trails several times a week.
  • Had a strategy chat with a career mentor.

How did I do on my April intentions?

  • One short weeknight hike and one longer weekend hike per week – success!
  • Yoga 1 time per week – Nope! It seemed sacreligious to go inside the yoga studio when the weather has been so incredible.
  • Sign up for ballet flow yoga – My friend and I tried a trial class and jointly decided it wasn’t worth the fee for the full 8 sessions. We’ve been hiking lots instead.
  • Unpack and get the new place feeling like home. – Mostly done! Putting up artwork feels like cheating on my old house. But everything else is unpacked.
  • Take Magdalena for a real spin! (I have named the new car Magdalena) – Yup!
  • Do a lil’ shopping for this lil’ vacation I have coming up in May – Success! Have most of my outfits planned.
April showers bring May flowers... Source: John-Morgan on Flickr

April showers bring May flowers… Source: John-Morgan on Flickr

May Intentions:

  • Let loose and enjoy lots of new friend time in Vegas!
  • Related: do not let TOO loose. Have 3 meals of whatever you want; make smart food choices the rest of the time. 3 alcoholic drinks per day (holy crap that sounds like a lot of alcohol to me. That’s 15 drinks in 1 week, for a girl who’s used to 1 or 2!) and drink lots of water.
  • Spend no more than $600 in Vegas on things that haven’t already been paid for.
  • Back on track healthwise when you return from Vegas: eliminate sweets from your diet for the rest of May.
  • Complete a hike longer than my usual 1.5 hour hike before month end.
4 thoughts on “April Highlights, May Intentions

    1. A Little Coffee Post author

      Well then we’ll be foot twins! Hopefully we’ll have different colours on our toes, haha. Also, I am on vacation as of 5pm this evening, so as far as I’m concerned BiSC is starting today.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

