February Highlights & March Intentions

Well hey look at that, another month has gone by in a flash. It’s true what they say about time going faster as you get older! This month has been quite emotionally challenging for me but there’s some pretty big, good changes coming soon. Let’s check in on what I did:

Source: Snoopy.com

Source: Snoopy.com

February Highlights

  • Survived RRSP season and helped my clients save more. It was one of the most successful RRSP seasons our firm has ever had.
  • Celebrated 33 years of life. My lovely sister treated me to dessert at a new restaurant a few days ahead of my real birthday, since she would be on a cruise for the actual anniversary of my great debut into the world! On my birthday, I went to Nook for an incredible Italian dinner with my family. We had the burrata appetizer, probably one of the most delicious things I’ve ever eaten in my life. I was gifted some lovely things. I especially loved a new scarf from my roommate and handbag from my mum.
  • Hiked with friends. My ankle survived.
  • Attended my office’s awards gala. My best friend there came runner-up in one awards category – I was so proud of her!
  • Had a wonderful catch-up brunch with friends I see far too infrequently, but with whom we’re always able to pick up where we left off. One of them is now the mother of a 1-year old baby boy now, and another is set to welcome her first baby in just a few weeks. It was quite the babyfest!
  • Realized that my car is going through a pretty slow & painful death and I’m going to have to replace it much sooner than anticipated. But I’m avoiding car-shopping at the moment because one stressful thing at a time is plenty, and….
  • I’m moving to a new place at the end of March. No more roommates. I have mixed feelings about it; I love my roommate, but do miss having my space to myself. I love my current home and the amazing landlords, but I’m super excited about the new place and the new friendly landlords! It’s a 2-bedroom with a dishwasher (NECESSITY. You guys don’t even want to KNOW how lazy I am about washing dishes by hand. I would look like a hoarder of dirty dishes) and in-suite laundry and it’s really nice! I will post photos once the move is complete. I’m also very, very stressed about the actual process of moving to a new home.
  • I also bailed on a lot of social stuff due to the aforementioned stress. I’m not really proud of this.

How did I do on my February intentions?

  • Host an Oscars viewing party – well this is embarassing, but I actually did arrange one, and I cancelled it the morning of the event, spurring much concern among my friends. I had a mini meltdown about my new apartment because I had put down a damage deposit but hadn’t signed a lease yet, and hadn’t been able to get hold of my new landlords for several days. I had convinced myself that they were going to run off with the money and I wasn’t going to get the apartment after all, because CRAZY JERKBRAIN. It turns out they’re just pretty casual people who don’t check their email very often!
  • Book my flight to Vegas in May – Yup, done!
  • Declutter my bedroom – do a big sweep of my stuff and cull anything that needs to be donated, sold or put in the trash. Get it out of the house. – Done!
  • Replace my black cardigan and buy some new lingerie. – Done!
  • Get into a green smoothie habit – Uhhhhh, nope.
  • Do yoga 2-3 times a week. – Giant fail. I think I went 3 or 4 times total in the month of February.

March Intentions:

  • Get movers booked.
  • Green smoothie habit.
  • Yoga 2-3 times a week, although I will let myself off the hook for this one in the last week of March because I think packing will rule my life at that point.
  • DO NOT ACTIVELY LOOK AT CARS FOR SALE. (Unless my car *actually* dies this month, in which case I’ll have no choice. A disturbingly plausible scenario). Putting out feelers by telling people what you’re looking for is ok.
  • Have my friend Niki over for dinner
  • Enjoy this month’s bachelorette and baby shower festivities, celebrate my friends with frugal gifts and an open heart, and get excited to meet the new little baby that’s coming in the next month!
  • Move into my new place!

Peace out y’all, and happy March! In like a lion and out like a lamb, I certainly hope.

Leave a Reply

