Home is a Person

The moment has arrived for me to write about some unbloggable things… things that overtook my brain and made it impossible for me to write anything else, but I couldn’t write what I wanted either, so I just quit writing. It’s taken until now for me to feel comfortable putting it out on the public web!

Jurjen and I like to call each other “retro boyfriend” and “retro girlfriend” because we recycled each other from 2000. I mentioned in my last life update post that I had a boyfriend, and that we’d known each other for 14 years. He and I have been back together for about 7 months now and I’m more sure of him than I’ve ever been about anything in my life.

What I didn’t mention previously is that he lives in Ontario… over 4000 km away from me. I attended college in his hometown, and we dated while I was there. I moved back to Vancouver when I graduated, leaving him behind (I try really hard not to play the ‘if only’ game over this one!) We’ve been in a long-distance relationship for the last few months. It’s been great, and we’ve seen each other far more than I would have dared hope, but it isn’t sustainable with so much physical space between us.

In January, my landlord really put this to the test when he put my house up for sale – and it sold in a week! So we had to figure some housing things out, long before we wanted to be dealing with it seriously. Would I sign a lease with the new landlords? Would I get kicked out? Would I get a new apartment here in Vancouver where Jurjen could join me? Would I pick up and move to Ontario? We had so many good options, it was overwhelming to choose among them. The only thing I knew for sure is that my home would be with him.

Well, I’m happy to announce that I’M STAYING IN VANCOUVER! I’m still ironing out the housing details, but it will be here. I’m so happy to have my love join me in my hometown, to discover it again through his eyes and share my favourite spots with him, to be introducing him to all my favourite people, and to build a home together. He is still in Ontario, but we’ll be together in a few short months.

L & J

2 thoughts on “Home is a Person

  1. Maja

    Laura – I’m so happy for you! I’ve come back to read your blog over the last years and it’s so wonderful to hear you have found your person, and you have figured out a way to build a home together. It makes me especially happy to hear because I feel like I can relate – my boyfriend and I have been together for over a year now (actually also after reconnecting after a fling and a couple of years of no contact), spending all our time and money on translatlantic flights and visits (he lives in the US) – which is a big commitment to make after only having had one weekend to reconnect initially, but I think like with you and Jurjen, it’s just so much better to jump and see instead of not doing anything because it might not work out. I’m seriously thinking about moving to the US, in which case Vancouver is definitely in the Top 5 of my travel list and we should have a few drinks on jumping! I wish you two all the best, what a great story!

    Reply

Leave a comment